Closed
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Anxiety at School, Opinions?

3 posters

Go down

Anxiety at School, Opinions? Empty Anxiety at School, Opinions?

Post  nightlover Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:36 am

I am a sophomore in college, for my freshmen year I was on paxil and I did not have any anxiety about being myself and talking.
I signed up for public speaking this spring semester thinking I would still be on my pills ...but I recently got off them and my anxiety is bag x2 worse.

Is this a good idea or should I just choose some other class?

I do not start my spring semester until next week.

I am just worried I will be a complete mess or might it be beneficial for my social anxiety?

thnx
nightlover
nightlover

Back to top Go down

Anxiety at School, Opinions? Empty Re: Anxiety at School, Opinions?

Post  theanonymous3000 Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:47 am

I'm not trying to discourage you from taking public speaking, but I also am awful not only with the crowd, but people in general. I took public speaking just last semester and no one spoke well from beginning to end--even our instructor sucked at speaking in front of the class. We all had to do five speeches. I skipped 3/5 speeches, and still ended up with a C. I was the worst speaker of the entire class, my body shook, I sweat, and I quivered in my voice as I fumbled upon the most simple sentences. I could tell my instructor didn't want me to go through the horror again, so I imagined he passed me out of sympathy.
However, if I were to redo it, I would. I would do it on medication, and I would want an instructor that actually wanted to help my learning process on something I severely fear. I don't know the level of your anxiety, but I would advise you to take a different class until you are able to take public speaking while on medication, as you will benefit far more than you would without the meds. I hope this helped.

theanonymous3000

Back to top Go down